Network tiering

Network tiering

Tier 4:
– most datacenters
– owns internal network
– pay other networks for IP transit outside the facility

Tier 3:
– regional providers
– build redundancy thru’ redundant POPs (points of presence) outside facility
– pay for IP transit past the POPs

Tier 2:
– national or international footprint
– still pay IP transit to reach some portions of Internet

Tier 1:
– do not pay IP transit
– global presence
– don’t pay other providers for any portion of connectivity

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.