History of Bhagavatam – Chirag Patel

History of Shrimad Bhagavatam – Chirag Patel


naimishhaaraNya (present day Sitapur district in Uttar Pradesh State of India) was the forest where rushi (sage) shaunaka asked narrator suta of bhagavata. It was on the bank of river gomati. There were some 88,000 rushis gathered there.


vyasa rushi wrote bhagavata which is one of 18 major puranas. His son shuka narrated bhagavata to raja (king) parikshita. Afterwards, shuka lived on one bank of river narmada (present state of Gujarat in India) and vyasa lived on the other bank.


There are total 18,000 shlokas (stanza) in bhagavata. The whole book is written as poem. It is divided into 12 skandhas (booklets). Every booklet has adhyaayas (chapters) with many shlokas. There are various chhandas (meters) – more than 35, used in this book. Some chhandas used : shaardoolavikreeDita (first 1-1-1 and last 12-13-19), vasantatilakaa, mandaakraantaa, lalita, aaryaa, narkuTam, anushhTupa, indravajra, upendravajra, vanshastha, svaagataa, pramaaNika, shaalinee, staaviNee, ruchiraa, mattamayoora etc.


There are 84 stutis (praises) in the book. There are many upadeshas (teachings) in the book. Some important ones : kapila to mother devahuti (booklet 3), sanatkumaaras’ (booklet 4), rushabhadeva’s and jadabharata‘s (booklet 5), jiva‘s to king chitraketu (booklet 6),  hiraNyakashipu to family members and prahlaada to friends (booklet 7), krushNa to devotee uddhava (booklet 11). Lord krushNa‘s teachings to his friend and devotee uddhava is the best of all.


satyam param dheemahi – we meditate upon the utmost truth. This is in the very first shloka and in the last shloka of bhagavata. The goal of bhagavata is to find the truth.


Let us begin our journey in search of that eternal truth.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.